North Sea, Arbroath, Angus 23rd December ’14

A surprise urgent overnight delivery to Aberdeen, 400 miles and 8 hours.  Delivered around 9:30am and then we had a hire car to return home – a BMW as well!

Rather than returning down the A90 I asked to go via the A92 which runs along the coast to Dundee so I had a choice between Stonehaven,  Montrose,  Arbroath and Broughty Ferry.  Given the time of day and the state of the tide I thought Arbroath was the better choice.  Another factor that influenced my choice was there being a McDonalds right on the prom, for those apre cold-swim calories.

View from the promenade
View from the promenade
Meeting my nemesis, together with my thermometer.
Meeting my nemesis, together with my thermometer.

The long walk down

 

Nearly there
Nearly there

Getting ready to measure the temperature

 

Yes, I did
Yes, I did

There you are, fully in, but I didn’t venture out too far because there was a bit of undertow together a quite stiff off-shore breeze that if I wasn’t careful could blow me out into deeper water.  The sea has to be respected.

Triumphant
Triumphant

Did it!  Water temp 6C (43F)

While changing I took care to do so secluded from passers-by, but I forgot the railway line following the coast.  Just after I had  finished changing a train stopped overlooking me, while on the approach to Arbroath station.  Had I been a couple of minutes later the passengers would’ve had a right eyeful.   Note to self: despite it being fairly bulky I should carry my Robi robe to avoid encounters of the embarrassing kind.

 

Leave a comment